Display advertising is currently becoming one of the indispensable marketing channels in any marketing campaign. However, do you clearly understand advertising fee methods? In today’s article, AdsNextGen would like to introduce the basic concepts of the 3 most common types of advertising fees, which are marketing CPM CPC CPA. So which one is better for you to choose to run a campaign? Let’s find out right here!!
What is Cost per Mille (CPM)?
1. CPM Marketing Define
CPM (Cost per mile/thousand) is the term used to measure advertising costs based on each thousand ad impressions {Source}. CPM is often used in advertising campaigns on websites, videos, or other advertising platforms. Your job is just to place ads on your website and develop it so that many people know about your website.
To gain a comprehensive understanding of digital marketing metrics, it’s essential to start with a clear definition of CPM marketing and how to distinguish CPM CPC CPA in digital marketing.
2. CPM Marketing Formula
Marketing CPM calculation formula:
CPM = (Total Campaign Spend / Number of Impressions) × 1,000

The first thing that distinguishes CPM CPC CPA in digital marketing is the calculation formula. Essentially, CPM refers to the rate your business agrees to pay for 1,000 views of a particular ad. Each website using CPM advertising does not need users to directly click on the link, each time a user sees an ad is counted as an impression.
For example, if you plan to spend 100 USD and get 3,000 impressions, the formula will be as follows: CPM = (100/ 3,000) * 1000. So, your CPM will be 33.3 USD for 1000 impressions.
Pros
It’s not too difficult or takes too much time to set up and launch a CPM campaign. It has several reasons why we should use it:
- Allows advertisers to easily measure the effectiveness of advertising campaigns and calculate costs.
- Suitable for advertising campaigns to increase brand visibility.

Cons
For marketing campaigns aimed at revenue efficiency (number of orders, number of people leaving contact information, number of people registering for events, etc.), CPM is not an economical form of advertising and efficiency, this is one of the distinguishes CPM CPC CPA in digital marketing. Furthermore, if your campaign goal is the number of people who click on the landing page to take action, it will be very difficult for you to measure campaign effectiveness using CPM. That’s because a CPM ad charge occurs even if the user doesn’t click on it but just sees your ad appear on the page they’re viewing.
What is the Cost Per Click (CPC)?
Definition of Cost Per Click (CPC)
CPC( Cost Per Click) is a term used in the field of online advertising, especially in advertising campaigns on advertising platforms such as Google Ads, Facebook Ads, or other advertising networks.
For example in Google Ads advertising. When users see your ad on Google, you will not be charged a fee, only when they click or click on that ad will you lose money for each click. This also means that your ad will be displayed to unlimited users.
Formula of Cost Per Click (CPC)
Marketing CPC calculation formula:
CPC = Advertising cost/number of clicks
For example, if you spent a total of $100 on your ad in a week, and during that week there were a total of 200 clicks on that ad, your CPC would be:
- CPC = $100 / 200 clicks = $0.50/click
- This is the average price you pay per click on your ad.

Pros of Cost Per Click (CPC) marketing
If you care about CPM CPC CPA in digital marketing, you have to learn about the benefits of CPC:
- From the CPC index, businesses can adjust related factors, thereby optimizing their advertising budget. When this budget source is optimized, general costs will be cut, increasing revenue and profits.
- CPC helps inform businesses about whether advertising content and campaigns are suitable for the target customers the business is aiming for or not. Because CPC is only charged when users are interested and click on the business’s advertisement.
- Businesses can be more proactive and flexible in changing advertising messages and content to better suit campaign purposes.

Cons of cost per click CPC
Although it brings many advantages and benefits to businesses when considered between CPM CPC CPA in digital marketing, CPC also has some disadvantages as follows:
- Currently, CPC is still the form chosen by many marketers, so the level of competition will be very high. This means your CPC bid can be quite high.
- The cost that businesses deduct for CPC activities will need to have a slightly higher proportion than other types of Marketing and advertising.
- You may encounter a situation of “hijacked clicks” due to bad behavior by competitors or others.
What exactly is Cost Per Action (CPA)?
Define of Cost Per Action (CPA
The phrase CPA is abbreviated from the phrase Cost Per Action, CPA digital marketing is understood as cost per action, this is a very popular form of advertising in recent years in the Marketing community, this form of advertising will force advertisers to pay for actions received such as registering an account, making purchases, installing applications, filling out forms, etc. CPA digital marketing is different from CPA network on affiliate, please pay attention.
>>> The difference between CPA vs ROAS can affect your campaign. Let’s learn about it.
CPA calculation formula
To estimate the costs to run a Marketing or advertising campaign, you must know the calculation formula. Below is the simplest CPA calculation formula:

For example, if the advertising cost of a campaign is $1000 and 100 purchases are made by users, the CPA fee will be calculated as follows:
- CPA = $1000/100 purchases
- Corresponding to CPA Fee = $10/purchase
- Depending on the specific goals and actions an advertiser wants to measure, the CPA fee formula can be applied to other actions like signing up, downloading an app, filling out a form, etc.
Pros of CPA Marketing
When it comes to CPM CPC CPA in digital marketing, CPA advertising only focuses and depends on the final actions of customers when they really have a need and are interested in the product but do not necessarily have to transact the product. The CPA calculation formula is very clear and easy to understand, so you can control your costs and profits when running an advertising strategy on Google in the most convenient way.

Cons of Cost per action (CPA)
When you want Internet users to take the actions that advertisers want, first, the ads must be truly attractive, have depth, be creative, and the ads must be fully exploited. meet customer needs. So when advertisers run this form of CPA advertising, they must focus on content and form very carefully to attract the target audience. The second disadvantage is that to run this form of advertising well, advertisers must be knowledgeable and have a deep knowledge of Marketing to maximize the effectiveness of CPA.
What’s the difference between CPM CPC CPA in digital marketing
Different exactly between marketing CPC vs CPM
In digital marketing, CPC is typically more expensive than CPM. However, it is often used in lead generation campaigns because it is considered to help increase traffic to an advertiser’s website and is great for building leads and interaction with the brand. CPC pricing is a prominent pricing methodology utilized by both the Google Ads advertising network and Facebook. Let’s distinguish between CPM CPC and CPA in digital marketing and apply them to affiliate marketing on Facebook.
| Problem | CPC | CPM |
| Define | Advertisers pay when visitors click on their ad. | Advertisers pay for every 1000 impressions. |
| The influence factors | Depends on ad position, ad quality, keywords, and target audience. | Depends on the number of ad impressions, target audience, market and ad placement |
| Formula | CPC = campaign cost/clicks | CPM = campaign cost/impressions * 1000 |
| Most suitable for | Performance-based campaigns. For example, affiliate marketing and sponsored social media posts. | Branding and awareness campaigns. For example, new product launches. |
| Place in the marketing funnel | Middle | Top |
Difference between digital marketing CPA vs CPC
While most online marketers favor the digital marketing CPA model since it only pays for user conversions, it is unpopular with publishers because they face the risk until the conversion. In comparison distinguishing between CPM CPC CPA in digital marketing, the CPC model, along with other popular models like CPM, CPA, and CPL in digital marketing, is low risk for publishers because they get paid for clicks rather than client acquisition. For a comparison of CPA vs CPC, we have fully updated the table below:
| Problem | CPA | CPC |
| Define | Advertisers pay only when a subscription, sale, or other action is taken. | Advertisers pay when visitors click on their ad. |
| The influence factors | Depends on the target audience, ad quality, landing page, and purchase process | Depends on ad position, ad quality, keywords, and target audience. |
| Formula | CPA = campaign cost/conversions | CPC = campaign cost/clicks |
| Most suitable for | Campaigns that motivate immediate action. For example, flash sales or app subscriptions. | Performance-based campaigns. For example, affiliate marketing and sponsored social media posts. |
| Place in the marketing funnel | Bottom | Middle |
Difference between digital marketing CPM vs CPA
There is a difference between CPM, CPC, and CPA in digital marketing in terms of risk. In a CPA campaign, the publisher faces the majority of the risk because they will not get paid if the user does not convert. Digital marketing CPM advertising, on the other hand, is a relatively minimal risk for publishers because it is paid per thousand impressions regardless of user behavior. For a comparison of CPA vs CPM, we have fully updated the table below:
| Problem | CPA | CPM |
| Define | Advertisers pay only when a subscription, sale, or other action is taken. | Advertisers pay for every 1000 impressions. |
| The influence factors | Depends on the target audience, ad quality, landing page, and purchase process | Depends on the number of ad impressions, target audience, market and ad placement |
| Formula | CPA = campaign cost/conversions | CPM = campaign cost/impressions * 1000 |
| Most suitable for | Campaigns that motivate immediate action. For example, flash sales or app subscriptions. | Branding and awareness campaigns. For example, new product launches. |
| Place in the marketing funnel | Bottom | Top |
Which ad pricing model is best for publishers and advertisers?
According to the information summarized above, each type of advertising cost will have its advantages and disadvantages. Therefore, we will not be able to easily conclude as to which type of pricing model is best. However, we can give you some useful advice, according to different marketing goals:
Which pricing model puts advertisers at the least risk?
According to Business of Apps, one of the variants of the CPA model is the pay-per-sales model. It is computed as follows: advertising cost/number of sales. It is a low-risk approach since the advertiser can track every sale, which is the desired conversion activity.
Which pricing model that for a brand awareness campaign?
The digital marketing CPM approach is primarily reliant on the number of times the ad is shown; it makes little difference whether the user clicks on or engages with the ad. It is best suited for display and branding efforts.
Which pricing model is most suited for increased traffic campaigns?
Each price model has benefits and drawbacks, and the optimal pricing model to choose is determined by the unique aims of your advertising campaign. CPM is frequently used to gain great reach and brand exposure, but CPC is useful for ads aimed at boosting traffic and clicks.

In this article, we learned about common online advertising terms such as CPM CPC CPA. Each term has different meanings and ways to measure effectiveness, suitable to each advertiser’s advertising goals.
Evaluating and using these metrics will help advertisers better understand the goals and effectiveness of their advertising campaigns. These indicators also need to be used in combination to comprehensively evaluate the effectiveness of advertising campaigns and optimize future advertising strategies.
In short, using effective online advertising indicators will help advertisers have the most appropriate and optimal advertising strategy to achieve their business goals.
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Adsnextgen Team with more than 5 years of experience providing marketing solutions and a solution provider for CPA traffic, CPA affiliates networks with the best incentives. We are committed to bringing advertisers, publishers, and businesses the best incentives and marketing solutions.
